GCACW Series Errata Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

One clarification applies to the first six games in the series. Add the sentence shown below in bold and italics to Section 7.4 of all six games:

7.4 Combat Die Roll Modifiers

TACTICAL MODIFIER

...A leader may contribute his Tactical Value to an attack only if he is stacked in the same hex as a subordinate attacking unit. During an Activate Leader action, the active leader may contribute his tactical value to any attack out of the hex he currently occupies, even if the attack is not being made by the unit to which the leader is "attached" for movement purposes (see 6.3). The defender's Tactical Value is subtracted from the attacker's Tactical Value...

Note that even though a leader may attack with more than one of his subordinate units in the same Activate Leader action, he can only move with one of his subordinate units.

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

One clarification applies to the first six games in the series. Add the sentence shown below in bold and italics to Section 7.4 of all six games:

7.4 Combat Die Roll Modifiers

TACTICAL MODIFIER

...A leader may contribute his Tactical Value to an attack only if he is stacked in the same hex as a subordinate attacking unit. During an Activate Leader action, the active leader may contribute his tactical value to any attack out of the hex he currently occupies, even if the attack is not being made by the unit to which the leader is "attached" for movement purposes (see 6.3). The defender's Tactical Value is subtracted from the attacker's Tactical Value...

Note that even though a leader may attack with more than one of his subordinate units in the same Activate Leader action, he can only move with one of his subordinate units.

 
Roads to Gettysburg Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Scenarios

Scenario 6 (Advanced Game) Official Rules Changes

  1. ARMY OF THE POTOMAC ARRIVAL

    The Army of the Potomac Arrival Phase is first carried out on Turn 2 (June 23), not on Turn 3 (June 24). Each column heading on the Army of the Potomac Arrival Table should have its turn number and date reduced by one. For example, the first column, which is labeled "Turn 3 - June 24," should now read "Turn 2 - June 23", the second column should now read "Turn 3 - June 24" instead of "Turn 4 - June 25", etc. The column furthest to the right on the Army of the Potomac Arrival Table should now read "Turn 9 - June 30" instead of "Turn 10 - July 1".

  2. WASHINGTON COUNTY PHASE

    The Confederate player loses 2 (not 1) VP for each Washington County Phase in which Williamsport, Falling Waters, Sharpsburg, and the Naval Battery are all occupied by Union brigades or divisions (not regiments). Exception: The Confederate player loses 5 (not 2 ) VP for each Washington County Phase in which Williamsport, Falling Waters, Sharpsburg, the Naval Battery, Chambersburg, and Greencastle are all occupied by Union brigades or divisions (not regiments).

  3. CONFEDERATE LEVIES

    At the end of the game, the Victory Points received by the Confederate Player for levying towns in Pennsylvania are halved. (Exception: the VP for levying Harrisburg are reduced by one-quarter, not one-half.) The new VP received for levying towns are as follows:

    • Carlisle - 2 VP
    • Chambersburg - 2 VP
    • Gettysburg - 2 VP
    • Greencastle - 2 VP
    • Hanover - 2 VP
    • Harrisburg - 12 VP
    • Littlestown - 1 VP
    • Mechanicsburg - 1 VP
    • New Cumberland - 1 VP
    • Newville - 1 VP
    • Shippensburg - 2 VP
    • Waynesboro - 1 VP
    • York - 6 VP

by Joseph M. Balkoski

 
Stonewall's Last Battles Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Clarifications and Corrections

9.0 ENTRENCHMENTS

[correction -- for Advanced Game scenarios only]:

Ignore the "Build" side on Breastworks markers. Units may complete Breastworks in just one turn. The idea is that the entrenchment process should take less and less time as the war goes on. This change makes SLB consistent with RTG which occurs just a month later. Only the early 1862 campaigns in the series should use the two-turn Breastworks procedure. [Though it should not be considered an official rule change to SJW or HCR, players could consider inserting the two-turn breastworks procedure described in the SIV, SLB, and ONR rulebooks into their games of SJW and HCR. This would apply the two-step procedure throughout 1862. It then might even be a good idea to swap the Breastworks counters from SLB with those provided with SJW or HCR]. Note that Fort construction still takes two turns.

Thus, the first two bullets in the "BUILDING AND REMOVING ENTRENCHMENTS" section should be replaced with just a single bullet:

  • If a unit entrenches, place a Breastworks marker atop the unit on its completed side.

Remove the third bullet in the "EFFECTS OF ENTRENCHMENTS" section.

Note that this rule change does NOT apply to Basic Game scenarios. There should be no entrenching in any Basic Game scenario. This is because two scenarios are just one turn in length while the other scenarios (two days in length) start at 5pm, not giving units enough time to fully complete breastworks before the final turn of the scenario.

13.2 Scenario 2: THE GREAT FLANK MARCH

MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Be sure and use Scott's Dam Ford and not Scott's Ford for the purposes of this rule. Scott's Dam Ford is next to US Ford; Scott's Ford is much further east, close to Fredericksburg.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [clarification] In the third victory condition, the path from U.S. Ford to Salem Church must be traced entirely on the south side of the Rappahannock River.

13.3 Scenario 3: SEDGWICK TO THE RESCUE

MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Be sure and use Scott's Dam Ford and not Scott's Ford for the purposes of this rule. Scott's Dam Ford is next to US Ford; Scott's Ford is much further east, close to Fredericksburg.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [clarification] In the third victory condition, the path from U.S. Ford to Fredericksburg must be traced entirely on the south side of the Rappahannock River.

UNION SETUP:

    [correction] Hoke, Gordon, and Smith should all start the scenario with a Manpower Value of 4, not 3. (This makes their initial strengths consistent with the Salem Church scenario.)

    [correction] Gibbon should be marked with the ++ symbol in the set-up. This unit may not activate or entrench until Game Turn 2 like the rest of the units from the Salem Church scenario.

19.1 Combine Flanks

[clarification] Change the third sentence in this section to read:

    Thus in the Advanced Game, no Union infantry may move into a hex that is both west of the Telegraph Road and whose last two digits number "32" or greater until the Union establishes a contiguous path of connected road/pike hexes from the U.S. Ford (3525/3624) to the Telegraph Road.

21.2 Attachment

[correction] Remove the entire section entitled "INFANTRY REGIMENTS". Replace it with the following:

SPECIAL ATTACHMENT

Even though they are not substitutes, both players' infantry regiments/brigades and cavalry regiments which begin the game on the map may attach to any friendly unit of the same type as long as attachment restrictions are adhered to. For example, Buschbeck's brigade, which begins Scenario 6 on the map, may attach to any Union infantry unit. Exception: In Basic Game scenarios 1, 2, or 3, infantry regiments/brigades which begin the game on the map may only attach to units of the same organization, as specified in the Special Rules for these scenarios.

22.1 Scenario 5: Certain Destruction Awaits...

TURN 1 ACTIVATION RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Add the following sentence to the end of this section:

Note that an assault attempt that fails is considered an attack.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [correction] Reword the "+2 for each Union infantry corps..." condition to read as follows:

+2 for each Union infantry corps (up to 7) entirely south of the Rapidan/Rappahannock river line at the end of the game. No points are scored for a corps if even one unit of the corps is north of either the Rapidan or Rappahannock rivers.

22.2 Scenario 6: THE CHANCELLORSVILLE CAMPAIGN

CONFEDERATE HIDDEN MOVEMENT [clarification] Change the first sentence to read:

On Turn 2, only Confederate units in hexes numbered 35xx or less (i.e. to the west) may perform actions or leader transfers.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [correction] Reword the "+2 for each Union infantry corps..." condition to read as follows:

+2 for each Union infantry corps (up to 7) entirely south of the Rapidan/Rappahannock river line at the end of the game. No points are scored for a corps if even one unit of the corps is north of either the Rapidan or Rappahannock rivers.

Q & A

21.4 Confederate Division Leaders

Q: When attaching two Rebel special brigades whose total manpower level is less than 9 (i.e. Gordon & Smith in Scenario 1), they cannot form a division sized unit, just a larger brigade. Is any extra artillery value permanently lost in this type of attachment if both the brigades have artillery?
A: Yes, any artillery lost in combining brigades together into brigades is lost forever. It cannot be regained when later combining to form a division sized unit.
Q: When one of the three Rebel special divisions (Anderson, Early, McLaws) is in play as the division sized unit and falls below manpower level 9 due to marching or combat, is the division forced to be detached into brigades?
A: No, the division sized unit can remain on the map.
Q: If one of the three Rebel special divisions (Anderson, Early, McLaws) has detached into brigades and the total brigade strength has fallen below 9, can the brigades only reform back into the division if they first attach enough manpower to bring them up to strength 9 or more?
A: Yes, that is correct.

by Ed Beach

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Clarifications and Corrections

9.0 ENTRENCHMENTS

[correction -- for Advanced Game scenarios only]:

Ignore the "Build" side on Breastworks markers. Units may complete Breastworks in just one turn. The idea is that the entrenchment process should take less and less time as the war goes on. This change makes SLB consistent with RTG which occurs just a month later. Only the early 1862 campaigns in the series should use the two-turn Breastworks procedure. [Though it should not be considered an official rule change to SJW or HCR, players could consider inserting the two-turn breastworks procedure described in the SIV, SLB, and ONR rulebooks into their games of SJW and HCR. This would apply the two-step procedure throughout 1862. It then might even be a good idea to swap the Breastworks counters from SLB with those provided with SJW or HCR]. Note that Fort construction still takes two turns.

Thus, the first two bullets in the "BUILDING AND REMOVING ENTRENCHMENTS" section should be replaced with just a single bullet:

  • If a unit entrenches, place a Breastworks marker atop the unit on its completed side.

Remove the third bullet in the "EFFECTS OF ENTRENCHMENTS" section.

Note that this rule change does NOT apply to Basic Game scenarios. There should be no entrenching in any Basic Game scenario. This is because two scenarios are just one turn in length while the other scenarios (two days in length) start at 5pm, not giving units enough time to fully complete breastworks before the final turn of the scenario.

13.2 Scenario 2: THE GREAT FLANK MARCH

MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Be sure and use Scott's Dam Ford and not Scott's Ford for the purposes of this rule. Scott's Dam Ford is next to US Ford; Scott's Ford is much further east, close to Fredericksburg.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [clarification] In the third victory condition, the path from U.S. Ford to Salem Church must be traced entirely on the south side of the Rappahannock River.

13.3 Scenario 3: SEDGWICK TO THE RESCUE

MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Be sure and use Scott's Dam Ford and not Scott's Ford for the purposes of this rule. Scott's Dam Ford is next to US Ford; Scott's Ford is much further east, close to Fredericksburg.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [clarification] In the third victory condition, the path from U.S. Ford to Fredericksburg must be traced entirely on the south side of the Rappahannock River.

UNION SETUP:

    [correction] Hoke, Gordon, and Smith should all start the scenario with a Manpower Value of 4, not 3. (This makes their initial strengths consistent with the Salem Church scenario.)

    [correction] Gibbon should be marked with the ++ symbol in the set-up. This unit may not activate or entrench until Game Turn 2 like the rest of the units from the Salem Church scenario.

19.1 Combine Flanks

[clarification] Change the third sentence in this section to read:

    Thus in the Advanced Game, no Union infantry may move into a hex that is both west of the Telegraph Road and whose last two digits number "32" or greater until the Union establishes a contiguous path of connected road/pike hexes from the U.S. Ford (3525/3624) to the Telegraph Road.

21.2 Attachment

[correction] Remove the entire section entitled "INFANTRY REGIMENTS". Replace it with the following:

SPECIAL ATTACHMENT

Even though they are not substitutes, both players' infantry regiments/brigades and cavalry regiments which begin the game on the map may attach to any friendly unit of the same type as long as attachment restrictions are adhered to. For example, Buschbeck's brigade, which begins Scenario 6 on the map, may attach to any Union infantry unit. Exception: In Basic Game scenarios 1, 2, or 3, infantry regiments/brigades which begin the game on the map may only attach to units of the same organization, as specified in the Special Rules for these scenarios.

22.1 Scenario 5: Certain Destruction Awaits...

TURN 1 ACTIVATION RESTRICTIONS: [clarification] Add the following sentence to the end of this section:

Note that an assault attempt that fails is considered an attack.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [correction] Reword the "+2 for each Union infantry corps..." condition to read as follows:

+2 for each Union infantry corps (up to 7) entirely south of the Rapidan/Rappahannock river line at the end of the game. No points are scored for a corps if even one unit of the corps is north of either the Rapidan or Rappahannock rivers.

22.2 Scenario 6: THE CHANCELLORSVILLE CAMPAIGN

CONFEDERATE HIDDEN MOVEMENT [clarification] Change the first sentence to read:

On Turn 2, only Confederate units in hexes numbered 35xx or less (i.e. to the west) may perform actions or leader transfers.

VICTORY CONDITIONS: [correction] Reword the "+2 for each Union infantry corps..." condition to read as follows:

+2 for each Union infantry corps (up to 7) entirely south of the Rapidan/Rappahannock river line at the end of the game. No points are scored for a corps if even one unit of the corps is north of either the Rapidan or Rappahannock rivers.

Q & A

21.4 Confederate Division Leaders

Q: When attaching two Rebel special brigades whose total manpower level is less than 9 (i.e. Gordon & Smith in Scenario 1), they cannot form a division sized unit, just a larger brigade. Is any extra artillery value permanently lost in this type of attachment if both the brigades have artillery?
A: Yes, any artillery lost in combining brigades together into brigades is lost forever. It cannot be regained when later combining to form a division sized unit.
Q: When one of the three Rebel special divisions (Anderson, Early, McLaws) is in play as the division sized unit and falls below manpower level 9 due to marching or combat, is the division forced to be detached into brigades?
A: No, the division sized unit can remain on the map.
Q: If one of the three Rebel special divisions (Anderson, Early, McLaws) has detached into brigades and the total brigade strength has fallen below 9, can the brigades only reform back into the division if they first attach enough manpower to bring them up to strength 9 or more?
A: Yes, that is correct.

by Ed Beach

 
The Skirmisher Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Series Replay -- Brandy Station

Pg 4, Col 1, bottom of page: Ed is forgetting that there is no further movement after a cavalry charge. Paul did not lose sight of a chance to advance.

Pg 5, Col 1, Ed's comment following 'USA Action' (middle of page): "Even if Robertson charges into Davis' rear (through hex 2115)..." Davis is in 2115, so this should read 2215.

Pg 5, Col 2 CSA Action, Chris' comment: "It's possible 2217 would be better..." Should be hex 2117 instead (which would bring Stuart within 3 hexes of Hampton in 1818).

Pg 7, Col 2, first USA action: clarify that Davis moves to 2115 to charge.

New Scenario: On The Fourth Day

For both variants, add the following Special Rule if the Standard Rules are used:

7. Jenkins: Stuart can activate A. Jenkins in this scenario. (Note that this is an exception to rule 5.2 from the Standard Series Rules, but for Jenkins only, not Imboden).

Jenkins (actually it was Ferguson at this point) was under Stuart's direct command on these days after the battle (and on the 3rd too) and this scenario will not work well without this exception.

Standard Series Rules

5.1 March. Force March (bottom of page 4). "(In RTG, SLB, and OTR, for marching ...". should instead read "(In SIV, SLB, and OTR, force marching is identical to the procedure below.)"

7.1 Attacks. Attack Restrictions. The parenthesized comment "(used only in RTG and OTR)" should instead read "(used only in RTG, SLB and OTR)".

7.1 Attacks. Attack Procedure (Assault Action Only). 1. Select Participants, Exception. "(In RTG and OTR only)" should instead read "(In RTG, SLB, and OTR)".

19.0 Counter Manifest: The RTG unit Hays was misspelled as "Hayes".

GCACW Standard Rules Countersheet

The RTG unit Hays was misspelled as "Hayes".

The back side of Wright lists a corps designation of "VI" instead of "VI". The front of the counter and the back of the other units in that corps (Newton and Howe) are correct.

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Series Replay -- Brandy Station

Pg 4, Col 1, bottom of page: Ed is forgetting that there is no further movement after a cavalry charge. Paul did not lose sight of a chance to advance.

Pg 5, Col 1, Ed's comment following 'USA Action' (middle of page): "Even if Robertson charges into Davis' rear (through hex 2115)..." Davis is in 2115, so this should read 2215.

Pg 5, Col 2 CSA Action, Chris' comment: "It's possible 2217 would be better..." Should be hex 2117 instead (which would bring Stuart within 3 hexes of Hampton in 1818).

Pg 7, Col 2, first USA action: clarify that Davis moves to 2115 to charge.

New Scenario: On The Fourth Day

For both variants, add the following Special Rule if the Standard Rules are used:

7. Jenkins: Stuart can activate A. Jenkins in this scenario. (Note that this is an exception to rule 5.2 from the Standard Series Rules, but for Jenkins only, not Imboden).

Jenkins (actually it was Ferguson at this point) was under Stuart's direct command on these days after the battle (and on the 3rd too) and this scenario will not work well without this exception.

Standard Series Rules

5.1 March. Force March (bottom of page 4). "(In RTG, SLB, and OTR, for marching ...". should instead read "(In SIV, SLB, and OTR, force marching is identical to the procedure below.)"

7.1 Attacks. Attack Restrictions. The parenthesized comment "(used only in RTG and OTR)" should instead read "(used only in RTG, SLB and OTR)".

7.1 Attacks. Attack Procedure (Assault Action Only). 1. Select Participants, Exception. "(In RTG and OTR only)" should instead read "(In RTG, SLB, and OTR)".

19.0 Counter Manifest: The RTG unit Hays was misspelled as "Hayes".

GCACW Standard Rules Countersheet

The RTG unit Hays was misspelled as "Hayes".

The back side of Wright lists a corps designation of "VI" instead of "VI". The front of the counter and the back of the other units in that corps (Newton and Howe) are correct.

 
On to Richmond Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Map Clarifications

County Names: several of the county names on the map are partially obscured by nearby woods hexes. Please note the locations of the following counties:

  • Isle of Wight: on the south bank of the James River, near the east edge of the south map.
  • Sussex: right above the Turn Track at the south edge of the south map (Waverly is the County Control Seat for Sussex County).

Terrain Identification: we received the following question about identifying the terrain type of a hex...

Q: What kind of terrain is hex N2611? The background color in that hex is rolling but it has rough markings. N2610 has only the rolling color with no symbols. In a case like hex N2611 which has precedence, the color or the symbol?

A: The symbols take precedence. Here are the steps to reliably identify the terrain type of a hex:

  1. Look for the presence of a city, woods, swamp, or rough symbol in a hex.
  2. If a city, woods or rough symbol (darker green brushstrokes against a lighter green background) is present, you are done, the hex is of that type. Note that a forest symbol takes precedence over a rough symbol (which creep into the edge of some woods hexes).
  3. If the swamp symbol is present, use the background color to determine if it is a swamp hex (dark green) or a provisional swamp (light green).
  4. If there is no symbol, the hex must be either rolling or clear. Use the background color to determine to determine if it is a rolling hex (green) or a clear hex (tan).

On to Richmond! Q & A

Part 1: Basic Game Rule Questions

Q: The Union initiative roll determines how many units he gets to activate. Does this limit the number or "units" per se or the total? That is, if the Union is allowed to activate two "units", does that allow him to activate (only) two leaders -- and all units that can be commanded by those leaders, or only two units, regardless of command?
A: Actually it is neither of the above and more restrictive. A leader can never activate units that are not in his command. A single leader (only) is ever activated at a time in a given Activate Leader action. The initiative roll is just used to decide how many units of that leader's command are able to move in that action.
Example: It is Scenario 6 and all 5 units subordinate to Porter are within his command radius. Union wins initiative with a 5. Porter can activate any two units of his command for marches. No units/ leaders of any other command can march, nor can Porter move a third unit. So in all cases 3 of Porter's 5 units are unable to move. Now if the Union player rolled a 6 for initiative it would be a different story and all 5 units could move.
Q: I noticed that there are several Confederate units marked "HO", presumably for Holmes' command. I also notice that there is no Holmes leader, presumably by design. Is it fair to assume the the Rebel HO units cannot be attached to other commands and must be activated separately?
A: Yes, that is correct. Also true for Huger ("HU"). They were deemed too incompetent for even a leader counter. Their units must be activated separately. However, in the advanced game, the brigades from these leaders' forces can be attached to other Confederate units.
Q: Can army leaders stack with independent units, e.g. Stoneman's brigade and the Richmond garrison regiments?
A: Yes, consider all units of that side subordinate to the army commander.
Q: Can army leaders transfer to a different unit than a corps or division leader does during an "activate leader" action?
A: No in the case where the corps or divsion leader is transferring to a different hex from the army leader. Only the active leader actually makes a transfer to a new unit during an activate leader action. Army leaders can transfer with them, but not off somewhere else.
Q: Can a leader assault with only an artillery unit?
A: Yes.
Q: Which retreat chart is used for a voluntary defender's retreat?
A: It is treated as a normal retreat, not a rout. Which chart is used also depends on the presence of enemy ZOC, so it could still be a combination of the two charts.
Q: Can a unit retreat/rout into a hex containing an enemy control marker?
A: Yes, and if an infantry unit is retreating, the control marker is flipped during the retreat or rout.
Q: Can units attack across enemy pontoon bridges? The rules say the pontoon is destroyed at the end of an enemy march, so during a march would seem to be ok.
A: No. This was omitted from the rules. It should say at the start of Page 16: "Enemy units may not cross that bridge in a march, retreat, advance after combat, or attack."
Q: Does a Union gunboat on patrol along a major river prevent the Confederates from building a major river bridge?
A: Yes, it does. This was an omission from the rules. Add the following restriction to both PONTOON BRIDGE RESTRICTIONS (10.1) and REPAIR RESTRICTIONS (10.3):
Confederate units may not build a bridge over a major river hexside if there is a Union gunboat on the Gunboat Display that can provide support to that portion of that river. See 24.0, "GUNBOATS AND COMBAT" for a description of the areas covered by each box on the Gunboat Display.

Part 2: Basic Game Scenario Questions

SCENARIO 1

Q: Basic game rules don't say when in the day's turn reinforcements arrive. The Warwick Line scenario says in Special Rule 3 that Confederate reinforcements come in "at the start of each turn". Does this mean even before the random events and leader transfer phases? In that case, a leader would be able to transfer onto a reinforcement in the leader transfer phase.
A: Yes, if it says "the start of a turn" that means before all other activities. And yes, you can transfer onto those units.
Q: What are the exact limitations on the Confederate siege artillery unit?
A: The siege artillery may attack, but only via an assault action, and may not advance after combat. It can not do a movement activation since it may not move; it may NOT even do a movement activation that goes nowhere just to transfer Magruder into its hex. As specified in the scenario rules, it is eliminated if forced to retreat.
Q: What happens to the Union reinforcements if the Union reinforcement entry hex is occupied by a Confederate unit?
A: If 5818 is Confederate-occupied, the Union player may alternatively enter at hex 5820 with the same movement point costs. If both 5818 and 5820 are Confederate-occupied, the Union reinforcements may not enter at all.

SCENARIO 2

Q: Is DR Jones supposed to be a complete replacement for Magruder, i.e. can he command McLaws' demi-division as well as his own?
A: Yes, he can command McLaws. Magruder was sick for this part of the campaign (back in Richmond), so DR Jones took over his division completely.
Q:
  1. If a wagon train routs six hexes, does the Union get only 20 VP for this?
  2. And if the train is then eliminated, does the Union get no extra points for it?
  3. Does this include the points for the eliminated 2 Manpower?
A:
  1. Yes, only 20 VP is ever granted of the asterisked wagon train items.
  2. Yes, no extra points. In this scenario, 20 is the absolute limit of VP awarded from the asterisked wagon train items for a single wagon train.
  3. No, the points for the eliminated 2 Manpower are added on top of the 20 VP for wagon train loss. Thus, there could be a total award of 20 VP from the asterisked wagon train items and an additional 4 VP awarded if the 2 manpower is lost in the combat or ensuing retreat. 24 is the theoretical maximum.

SCENARIO 6

Q: Can the Union conduct a grand assault on Turn 1 if Sumner or Heintzelman assault?
A: Yes.
Q: Under rule 12B: if the Union declines a decision the first time one of these events happens, does he get another chance to decide each time one of these events happens subsequently (e.g. each time a unit enters New Kent County)?
A: No. He only gets another chance during subsequent Turn Indication Phases. The four cases in 12B only trigger the special opportunity to make this decision ONCE each game.

SCENARIO 7

Q: What effect does the Naval Battery play for the Rebs, with the gunboats restricted to the James River - East box? Is it purely for historical purposes?
A: Scenario Special Rule 7 notes that gunboats can be used on ANY hex on the James on the South map. So per that, the Union gunboats could bombard Drewry's Bluff. In this case, the Naval Battery is used to protect Confederate units in Drewry's Bluff.

Part 3: Advanced Game Questions

Q: The Union has only one amphibious movement marker; does this mean that only one Union unit at a time can be embarked?
A: You could theoretically have two Union units embarked at once, as long as their manpower was less than or equal to 22. (There is only 1 counter though). You never normally see that however because of the risk of a turn ending early. Once you get someone embarked you usually want to move him ASAP because he is disembarked automatically if the Action Cycle ends.
Q: Is Union amphibious movement allowed up the York River if just Glocester Point is cleared of Confederate infantry/artillery?
A: No it isn't. The Union player has to clear both Yorktown and Gloucester Point. The advantages to taking Gloucester before Yorktown is that the Union can get the special +1 gunboat bonus when attacking Yorktown and can threaten an end-around on the Confederate line by moving up through Gloucester County on the north side of the York. In addition, if Gloucester Point is already in Union hands, the Union player can then immediately move up the York once Yorktown falls.
Q: I was a bit confused on legal amphibious moves. By ‘side’ of the river, do you mean coastline? Which of the following moves is legal (continuing your example from the rules?
  1. N3725-N3625-N3525-N3524
  2. N3725-N3624-N3524
A: They are both legal (and obviously you would use (b) since it is faster). The reference to "side" really means side of a hex. So if you embark at Smith's Landing, you are on the west side of the Hill Marsh peninsula and can't move to 3825 without going up and around the north side of the Hill Marsh (3725-3724-3823-3824-3825). Don't think that the "side" rule means you can't embark on one side of the river and move to the other side -- that is obviously okay. You can freely move back and forth from one side of the river to another if that makes the path shorter. Something like N3317-N3216-N3116-N3015 is legal.
Q: The rules state: "Gunboats may provide 2 kinds of support ... defensive support OR bombardment." Can they do both in a single day-turn, or do they have to pick one type of mission for a particular day-turn?
A: They can do both in the same day-turn. If they hit the limit on the number of times they perform one of these activities, they can still perform the other.
Q: Can Gunboat-2 (which is confined to Hampton Roads until the Virginia is destroyed) still take part in the special gunboat bombardment of Yorktown/Gloucester Pt. or is it totally inoperative until the Virginia is sunk?
A: It is totally inoperative until the Virginia is destroyed.
Q: When exactly is the defensive support from the gunboats designated? Can the Union player wait to see the outcome of an assault command roll before allocating one of the four gunboat defensive support usages?
A: It is allocated during the step labeled "Determine Die Roll Modifiers". That means it is after all command rolls have already been completed.
Q: Can an embarked unit in Fort Monroe be added to the strength that attacks Norfolk?
A: Yes.
Q: The set up calls for more "2" manpower chits than are supplied. How should one handle this?
A: You should be fine if you observe the suggestions about which units in off-map boxes should get strength markers. Basically only Ft. Monroe, Valley, Rappahannock, and Norfolk should be filled with units with strength markers. The text that explains that is at the top of 37.0.

Article

  • Click here to read "Bridge over the Mattapony: Union Strategies in the On To Richmond! Advanced Game"

Play Aids

  • Click here to download auxiliary "On to Richmond!" Charts and Tables and a game summary sheet (courtesy of Jay Meyers).

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Map Clarifications

County Names: several of the county names on the map are partially obscured by nearby woods hexes. Please note the locations of the following counties:

  • Isle of Wight: on the south bank of the James River, near the east edge of the south map.
  • Sussex: right above the Turn Track at the south edge of the south map (Waverly is the County Control Seat for Sussex County).

Terrain Identification: we received the following question about identifying the terrain type of a hex...

Q: What kind of terrain is hex N2611? The background color in that hex is rolling but it has rough markings. N2610 has only the rolling color with no symbols. In a case like hex N2611 which has precedence, the color or the symbol?

A: The symbols take precedence. Here are the steps to reliably identify the terrain type of a hex:

  1. Look for the presence of a city, woods, swamp, or rough symbol in a hex.
  2. If a city, woods or rough symbol (darker green brushstrokes against a lighter green background) is present, you are done, the hex is of that type. Note that a forest symbol takes precedence over a rough symbol (which creep into the edge of some woods hexes).
  3. If the swamp symbol is present, use the background color to determine if it is a swamp hex (dark green) or a provisional swamp (light green).
  4. If there is no symbol, the hex must be either rolling or clear. Use the background color to determine to determine if it is a rolling hex (green) or a clear hex (tan).

On to Richmond! Q & A

Part 1: Basic Game Rule Questions

Q: The Union initiative roll determines how many units he gets to activate. Does this limit the number or "units" per se or the total? That is, if the Union is allowed to activate two "units", does that allow him to activate (only) two leaders -- and all units that can be commanded by those leaders, or only two units, regardless of command?
A: Actually it is neither of the above and more restrictive. A leader can never activate units that are not in his command. A single leader (only) is ever activated at a time in a given Activate Leader action. The initiative roll is just used to decide how many units of that leader's command are able to move in that action.
Example: It is Scenario 6 and all 5 units subordinate to Porter are within his command radius. Union wins initiative with a 5. Porter can activate any two units of his command for marches. No units/ leaders of any other command can march, nor can Porter move a third unit. So in all cases 3 of Porter's 5 units are unable to move. Now if the Union player rolled a 6 for initiative it would be a different story and all 5 units could move.
Q: I noticed that there are several Confederate units marked "HO", presumably for Holmes' command. I also notice that there is no Holmes leader, presumably by design. Is it fair to assume the the Rebel HO units cannot be attached to other commands and must be activated separately?
A: Yes, that is correct. Also true for Huger ("HU"). They were deemed too incompetent for even a leader counter. Their units must be activated separately. However, in the advanced game, the brigades from these leaders' forces can be attached to other Confederate units.
Q: Can army leaders stack with independent units, e.g. Stoneman's brigade and the Richmond garrison regiments?
A: Yes, consider all units of that side subordinate to the army commander.
Q: Can army leaders transfer to a different unit than a corps or division leader does during an "activate leader" action?
A: No in the case where the corps or divsion leader is transferring to a different hex from the army leader. Only the active leader actually makes a transfer to a new unit during an activate leader action. Army leaders can transfer with them, but not off somewhere else.
Q: Can a leader assault with only an artillery unit?
A: Yes.
Q: Which retreat chart is used for a voluntary defender's retreat?
A: It is treated as a normal retreat, not a rout. Which chart is used also depends on the presence of enemy ZOC, so it could still be a combination of the two charts.
Q: Can a unit retreat/rout into a hex containing an enemy control marker?
A: Yes, and if an infantry unit is retreating, the control marker is flipped during the retreat or rout.
Q: Can units attack across enemy pontoon bridges? The rules say the pontoon is destroyed at the end of an enemy march, so during a march would seem to be ok.
A: No. This was omitted from the rules. It should say at the start of Page 16: "Enemy units may not cross that bridge in a march, retreat, advance after combat, or attack."
Q: Does a Union gunboat on patrol along a major river prevent the Confederates from building a major river bridge?
A: Yes, it does. This was an omission from the rules. Add the following restriction to both PONTOON BRIDGE RESTRICTIONS (10.1) and REPAIR RESTRICTIONS (10.3):
Confederate units may not build a bridge over a major river hexside if there is a Union gunboat on the Gunboat Display that can provide support to that portion of that river. See 24.0, "GUNBOATS AND COMBAT" for a description of the areas covered by each box on the Gunboat Display.

Part 2: Basic Game Scenario Questions

SCENARIO 1

Q: Basic game rules don't say when in the day's turn reinforcements arrive. The Warwick Line scenario says in Special Rule 3 that Confederate reinforcements come in "at the start of each turn". Does this mean even before the random events and leader transfer phases? In that case, a leader would be able to transfer onto a reinforcement in the leader transfer phase.
A: Yes, if it says "the start of a turn" that means before all other activities. And yes, you can transfer onto those units.
Q: What are the exact limitations on the Confederate siege artillery unit?
A: The siege artillery may attack, but only via an assault action, and may not advance after combat. It can not do a movement activation since it may not move; it may NOT even do a movement activation that goes nowhere just to transfer Magruder into its hex. As specified in the scenario rules, it is eliminated if forced to retreat.
Q: What happens to the Union reinforcements if the Union reinforcement entry hex is occupied by a Confederate unit?
A: If 5818 is Confederate-occupied, the Union player may alternatively enter at hex 5820 with the same movement point costs. If both 5818 and 5820 are Confederate-occupied, the Union reinforcements may not enter at all.

SCENARIO 2

Q: Is DR Jones supposed to be a complete replacement for Magruder, i.e. can he command McLaws' demi-division as well as his own?
A: Yes, he can command McLaws. Magruder was sick for this part of the campaign (back in Richmond), so DR Jones took over his division completely.
Q:
  1. If a wagon train routs six hexes, does the Union get only 20 VP for this?
  2. And if the train is then eliminated, does the Union get no extra points for it?
  3. Does this include the points for the eliminated 2 Manpower?
A:
  1. Yes, only 20 VP is ever granted of the asterisked wagon train items.
  2. Yes, no extra points. In this scenario, 20 is the absolute limit of VP awarded from the asterisked wagon train items for a single wagon train.
  3. No, the points for the eliminated 2 Manpower are added on top of the 20 VP for wagon train loss. Thus, there could be a total award of 20 VP from the asterisked wagon train items and an additional 4 VP awarded if the 2 manpower is lost in the combat or ensuing retreat. 24 is the theoretical maximum.

SCENARIO 6

Q: Can the Union conduct a grand assault on Turn 1 if Sumner or Heintzelman assault?
A: Yes.
Q: Under rule 12B: if the Union declines a decision the first time one of these events happens, does he get another chance to decide each time one of these events happens subsequently (e.g. each time a unit enters New Kent County)?
A: No. He only gets another chance during subsequent Turn Indication Phases. The four cases in 12B only trigger the special opportunity to make this decision ONCE each game.

SCENARIO 7

Q: What effect does the Naval Battery play for the Rebs, with the gunboats restricted to the James River - East box? Is it purely for historical purposes?
A: Scenario Special Rule 7 notes that gunboats can be used on ANY hex on the James on the South map. So per that, the Union gunboats could bombard Drewry's Bluff. In this case, the Naval Battery is used to protect Confederate units in Drewry's Bluff.

Part 3: Advanced Game Questions

Q: The Union has only one amphibious movement marker; does this mean that only one Union unit at a time can be embarked?
A: You could theoretically have two Union units embarked at once, as long as their manpower was less than or equal to 22. (There is only 1 counter though). You never normally see that however because of the risk of a turn ending early. Once you get someone embarked you usually want to move him ASAP because he is disembarked automatically if the Action Cycle ends.
Q: Is Union amphibious movement allowed up the York River if just Glocester Point is cleared of Confederate infantry/artillery?
A: No it isn't. The Union player has to clear both Yorktown and Gloucester Point. The advantages to taking Gloucester before Yorktown is that the Union can get the special +1 gunboat bonus when attacking Yorktown and can threaten an end-around on the Confederate line by moving up through Gloucester County on the north side of the York. In addition, if Gloucester Point is already in Union hands, the Union player can then immediately move up the York once Yorktown falls.
Q: I was a bit confused on legal amphibious moves. By ‘side’ of the river, do you mean coastline? Which of the following moves is legal (continuing your example from the rules?
  1. N3725-N3625-N3525-N3524
  2. N3725-N3624-N3524
A: They are both legal (and obviously you would use (b) since it is faster). The reference to "side" really means side of a hex. So if you embark at Smith's Landing, you are on the west side of the Hill Marsh peninsula and can't move to 3825 without going up and around the north side of the Hill Marsh (3725-3724-3823-3824-3825). Don't think that the "side" rule means you can't embark on one side of the river and move to the other side -- that is obviously okay. You can freely move back and forth from one side of the river to another if that makes the path shorter. Something like N3317-N3216-N3116-N3015 is legal.
Q: The rules state: "Gunboats may provide 2 kinds of support ... defensive support OR bombardment." Can they do both in a single day-turn, or do they have to pick one type of mission for a particular day-turn?
A: They can do both in the same day-turn. If they hit the limit on the number of times they perform one of these activities, they can still perform the other.
Q: Can Gunboat-2 (which is confined to Hampton Roads until the Virginia is destroyed) still take part in the special gunboat bombardment of Yorktown/Gloucester Pt. or is it totally inoperative until the Virginia is sunk?
A: It is totally inoperative until the Virginia is destroyed.
Q: When exactly is the defensive support from the gunboats designated? Can the Union player wait to see the outcome of an assault command roll before allocating one of the four gunboat defensive support usages?
A: It is allocated during the step labeled "Determine Die Roll Modifiers". That means it is after all command rolls have already been completed.
Q: Can an embarked unit in Fort Monroe be added to the strength that attacks Norfolk?
A: Yes.
Q: The set up calls for more "2" manpower chits than are supplied. How should one handle this?
A: You should be fine if you observe the suggestions about which units in off-map boxes should get strength markers. Basically only Ft. Monroe, Valley, Rappahannock, and Norfolk should be filled with units with strength markers. The text that explains that is at the top of 37.0.

Article

  • Click here to read "Bridge over the Mattapony: Union Strategies in the On To Richmond! Advanced Game"

Play Aids

  • Click here to download auxiliary "On to Richmond!" Charts and Tables and a game summary sheet (courtesy of Jay Meyers).
 
Grant Takes Command Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Joining the Maps

Page 3 of the Grant Takes Command rulebook states "In the overlap area, the north map lies on top of the south map."  Since publication, however, I've looked over the final maps and revised my opinion of the best way to join the two maps.  I now think it is better to place the south map on top. I've also found a way to join them with a minimum number of cuts. So here is the recommended method to join the maps

  1. Cut the gray border off the top of the south map.  You can leave the borders on the east, west, and south edges.
  2. Working with the south map, cut off the half-hexes above hexes S0201, S0401, S0601, S0801, S1001, S1201, S1401, S1601, S1801, S2001, S2201, and S2401. You DO NOT need to continue any further to the east. The south map lies on top of the north map perfectly across the rest of the map.
  3. You'll also need to cut around the left-hand side of hex S0101.
  4. Place the south map on top of the north map and you are ready to play.

Map Corrections and Clarifications

NORTH MAP:

N1334: This hex should contain a road to the southeast to be consistent with the south map.

SOUTH MAP:

S5620 (Liberty Hall) and S5823 (White House): These two hexes should both contain a landing.

Clarification The following hex is a clear hex: 5410.

Clarification: The following hexes are rolling hexes: 2923, 3312, 4018, 4118, 4517, 4612, 4713, and 5823.

Rule Errata

Scenario 2, Union Setup: Wagon Train-C should be setup in hex N1902 (not a second Wagon Train-B).

Scenario 5, Victory Conditions: Replace the word "destroyed" with "damaged" for the railroad stations in the victory condition list (these are the first nine victory conditions listed).

Page 24, left column: For the purpose of the example at the bottom of this column (and the top of the next column), assume there is a landing in hex N5317 on the NW corner of the land in that hex. (We didn't end up with any landing hexes on a river isthmus like there were in On To Richmond, but I wanted to keep the explanation in the rules...)

Page 24, right column: The hex number for amphibious movement to the Potomac River should be N5110, not N5408. Note that even though the map legend partially blocks the path to these hexes, amphibious movement up the river to the landings at N4807, N4902, and N4903 is permitted, and all three of these landings are 9 hexes or less from N5110 (allowing them to be reached from Fort Monroe with a move of three fatigue levels).

Page 25, right column: The hex number for Goochland Court House should be S1019, not S1120.

Scenario 11, Special Rule 7, "Washington Artillery": The last sentence should read: "If the Washington Artillery has already been eliminated, the Confederate Player must deduct a total of 3 from the artillery values of Special Reinforcements (see 25.1) arriving from Turns 7 to 12."

Scenario 11, Confederate Setup: The command for the Washington Artillery should be SEV, not P-I.

Charts & Tables Errata

Page 2, Command Radius Summary: The final text in this box should read "Red outline defines leader's command radius".

Questions and Answers

MAPS

What is the purpose of the Chesterfield County Extension map? Where is it referred to in the rules? What is so important about this small piece of real estate?
Within the rule book, it is just mentioned in the setup for the Grand Campaign scenarios (Scenarios 11 and 12). These are the only GTC scenarios for which this map should come in to play. Assuming you have a copy of OTR, once you setup the GTC and OTR maps together you will see the importance. Without it, Butler's Army of the James must squeeze through a narrow corridor only 3 to 4 hexes wide to get to Richmond. Using it provides the entire area between the James and Swift Creek -- the natural path from Bermuda Hundred to Richmond.
I recommend also adding this extension to the OTR maps when playing the OTR campaign game.
Four hexes on the south map (3833, 4334, 4433, 4534) do not have landings in them as the OTR maps show. Should the landings be there?
A tricky question ... the answer is not definitive I'm afraid. The landings were left off these hexes because it is not an option in Scenarios 9 and 10 to move Butler's units (amphibiously) from Bermuda Hundred to Henrico County. Such a move wasn't considered historically and Scenarios 9 and 10 stick to a historical role for Butler's Army of the James. So they have to join Grant's army at White House (or thereabouts).
Now in Scenarios 11 and 12 (the Grand Campaign), all bets are off. This kind of amphibious movement should be possible in the more free-form Grand Campaign where all of Tidewater Virginia is available for campaigning. It'll be a little tricky to remember these conditional landings for the Grand Campaign... players will have to look at their OTR maps (which will be set up too at that point).
A few questions about minor discrepancies joining the GTC north and south maps:
  1. N3734 / S2701 - Creek hexside on NW hexside of south map hex (map edge of south map) is not present on north map. Should this creek exist on map?
  2. Creek that runs variously along GTC South map hexes 3701, 3801 and 3901 is not present on north map.
  3. Minor river hexside to the SW of hex S4701 is a creek in N5734.
(1) No it shouldn't exist ... creek was extended a bit too far by the map artist.
(2 and 3) The south map is correct in both of these cases.

SCENARIO 1

It looks Special Rule 6 of Scenario 1 has the wrong hex numbers listed. It says "The Union Player controls all other objectives (Wilderness Tavern, hex N2814, Parker's Store, hex 2510, Chancellorsville, and hex 3010)", but Wilderness Tavern is not hex N2814 and the others are wrong too.
Those hex numbers ARE correct. In this scenario, the famous Brock Road/Plank Road intersection and the hexes on the south side of Ely Ford and the south side of Germanna Ford are used as additional objectives. Since there are no place names in those hexes, they are identified by hex number instead. Read through the Victory Conditions one-by-one to see the actual hex numbers for Wilderness Tavern and the other objectives.

SCENARIOS 2, 9, 11

For Special Rule 7 (Special Pontoon Construction) of Scenario 2 (same as Special Rule 6 of Scenarios 9 and 11), do those Union units that qualify to build those bridges have to be at fatigue level 0, or are they allowed to build even with fatigue of 1 or greater?
For this special rule, they can be at a Fatigue Level of 1 or greater (since that is actually the only way you can get them adjacent to a minor river ford anyway). Obviously this differs from the usual pontoon construction rules in 10.1 which require you to be at Fatigue Level 0. This special rule represents deployment of the pontoons that the Union engineers snuck into place under the cover of darkness at the start of the campaign.

ADVANCED GAME

How does the Union player control Off-Map boxes to gain VP (those boxes that are available for VP)? Do you need a certain level of manpower, or just the presence of a single Union unit?
The presence of a single Union unit of any manpower gives you control of an Off-Map box during the VP segment.
Sections 22.0 (Amphibious Movement) and 23.0 (Gunboats) both talk about the York River. I can't find that river on the map. Where is the York River on the GTC maps?
The York River splits into the Pamunkey River and the Mattapony River to the east of the GTC south map. Whenever the rules reference the "York River", assume that the York River includes all major river hexes on both the Pamunkey and Mattapony.
On Page 27 (right column) it says that units chosen to receive replacement points must be in supply. What if they are currently in supply but are about to drop out of supply later in the Strategic Cycle? Or what if they will only be in supply if a player builds or upgrades a depot during the intervening Depot Segment?
Union units chosen to receive replacement points must be units that will be judged to be in supply in the upcoming Supply Status Segment based on depots that currently exist on the map (i.e. depots that are on the map during the Reinforcement Segment). Units that are about to drop out of supply can not receive replacements. In addition, units that will only be in supply after the construction of new depots can not receive replacements.
If AP Hill falls ill and is replaced by Early, what happens with the division-sized military unit Early. Does it remain or is the division counter replaced?
When Hill fell ill after the Battle of the Wilderness, Early took over III Corps and Gordon assumed command of Early's II Corps division. There is a Gordon division counter in the counter mix with the same 3 tactical and 3 artillery as Early's division. So you should use that division if you want to be historically accurate.
As a side note, there is also a Ramseur 3-3 II Corps division. By the Cold Harbor time frame, Hill had returned to take back over III Corps, but Ewell had fallen sick and been returned to Richmond to run the garrison there. Plus, Edward Johnson was captured in the fighting at the Bloody Angle on May 12. So in that time frame, Early was in charge of II Corps and both Gordon and Ramseur were division leaders.

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Joining the Maps

Page 3 of the Grant Takes Command rulebook states "In the overlap area, the north map lies on top of the south map."  Since publication, however, I've looked over the final maps and revised my opinion of the best way to join the two maps.  I now think it is better to place the south map on top. I've also found a way to join them with a minimum number of cuts. So here is the recommended method to join the maps

  1. Cut the gray border off the top of the south map.  You can leave the borders on the east, west, and south edges.
  2. Working with the south map, cut off the half-hexes above hexes S0201, S0401, S0601, S0801, S1001, S1201, S1401, S1601, S1801, S2001, S2201, and S2401. You DO NOT need to continue any further to the east. The south map lies on top of the north map perfectly across the rest of the map.
  3. You'll also need to cut around the left-hand side of hex S0101.
  4. Place the south map on top of the north map and you are ready to play.

Map Corrections and Clarifications

NORTH MAP:

N1334: This hex should contain a road to the southeast to be consistent with the south map.

SOUTH MAP:

S5620 (Liberty Hall) and S5823 (White House): These two hexes should both contain a landing.

Clarification The following hex is a clear hex: 5410.

Clarification: The following hexes are rolling hexes: 2923, 3312, 4018, 4118, 4517, 4612, 4713, and 5823.

Rule Errata

Scenario 2, Union Setup: Wagon Train-C should be setup in hex N1902 (not a second Wagon Train-B).

Scenario 5, Victory Conditions: Replace the word "destroyed" with "damaged" for the railroad stations in the victory condition list (these are the first nine victory conditions listed).

Page 24, left column: For the purpose of the example at the bottom of this column (and the top of the next column), assume there is a landing in hex N5317 on the NW corner of the land in that hex. (We didn't end up with any landing hexes on a river isthmus like there were in On To Richmond, but I wanted to keep the explanation in the rules...)

Page 24, right column: The hex number for amphibious movement to the Potomac River should be N5110, not N5408. Note that even though the map legend partially blocks the path to these hexes, amphibious movement up the river to the landings at N4807, N4902, and N4903 is permitted, and all three of these landings are 9 hexes or less from N5110 (allowing them to be reached from Fort Monroe with a move of three fatigue levels).

Page 25, right column: The hex number for Goochland Court House should be S1019, not S1120.

Scenario 11, Special Rule 7, "Washington Artillery": The last sentence should read: "If the Washington Artillery has already been eliminated, the Confederate Player must deduct a total of 3 from the artillery values of Special Reinforcements (see 25.1) arriving from Turns 7 to 12."

Scenario 11, Confederate Setup: The command for the Washington Artillery should be SEV, not P-I.

Charts & Tables Errata

Page 2, Command Radius Summary: The final text in this box should read "Red outline defines leader's command radius".

Questions and Answers

MAPS

What is the purpose of the Chesterfield County Extension map? Where is it referred to in the rules? What is so important about this small piece of real estate?
Within the rule book, it is just mentioned in the setup for the Grand Campaign scenarios (Scenarios 11 and 12). These are the only GTC scenarios for which this map should come in to play. Assuming you have a copy of OTR, once you setup the GTC and OTR maps together you will see the importance. Without it, Butler's Army of the James must squeeze through a narrow corridor only 3 to 4 hexes wide to get to Richmond. Using it provides the entire area between the James and Swift Creek -- the natural path from Bermuda Hundred to Richmond.
I recommend also adding this extension to the OTR maps when playing the OTR campaign game.
Four hexes on the south map (3833, 4334, 4433, 4534) do not have landings in them as the OTR maps show. Should the landings be there?
A tricky question ... the answer is not definitive I'm afraid. The landings were left off these hexes because it is not an option in Scenarios 9 and 10 to move Butler's units (amphibiously) from Bermuda Hundred to Henrico County. Such a move wasn't considered historically and Scenarios 9 and 10 stick to a historical role for Butler's Army of the James. So they have to join Grant's army at White House (or thereabouts).
Now in Scenarios 11 and 12 (the Grand Campaign), all bets are off. This kind of amphibious movement should be possible in the more free-form Grand Campaign where all of Tidewater Virginia is available for campaigning. It'll be a little tricky to remember these conditional landings for the Grand Campaign... players will have to look at their OTR maps (which will be set up too at that point).
A few questions about minor discrepancies joining the GTC north and south maps:
  1. N3734 / S2701 - Creek hexside on NW hexside of south map hex (map edge of south map) is not present on north map. Should this creek exist on map?
  2. Creek that runs variously along GTC South map hexes 3701, 3801 and 3901 is not present on north map.
  3. Minor river hexside to the SW of hex S4701 is a creek in N5734.
(1) No it shouldn't exist ... creek was extended a bit too far by the map artist.
(2 and 3) The south map is correct in both of these cases.

SCENARIO 1

It looks Special Rule 6 of Scenario 1 has the wrong hex numbers listed. It says "The Union Player controls all other objectives (Wilderness Tavern, hex N2814, Parker's Store, hex 2510, Chancellorsville, and hex 3010)", but Wilderness Tavern is not hex N2814 and the others are wrong too.
Those hex numbers ARE correct. In this scenario, the famous Brock Road/Plank Road intersection and the hexes on the south side of Ely Ford and the south side of Germanna Ford are used as additional objectives. Since there are no place names in those hexes, they are identified by hex number instead. Read through the Victory Conditions one-by-one to see the actual hex numbers for Wilderness Tavern and the other objectives.

SCENARIOS 2, 9, 11

For Special Rule 7 (Special Pontoon Construction) of Scenario 2 (same as Special Rule 6 of Scenarios 9 and 11), do those Union units that qualify to build those bridges have to be at fatigue level 0, or are they allowed to build even with fatigue of 1 or greater?
For this special rule, they can be at a Fatigue Level of 1 or greater (since that is actually the only way you can get them adjacent to a minor river ford anyway). Obviously this differs from the usual pontoon construction rules in 10.1 which require you to be at Fatigue Level 0. This special rule represents deployment of the pontoons that the Union engineers snuck into place under the cover of darkness at the start of the campaign.

ADVANCED GAME

How does the Union player control Off-Map boxes to gain VP (those boxes that are available for VP)? Do you need a certain level of manpower, or just the presence of a single Union unit?
The presence of a single Union unit of any manpower gives you control of an Off-Map box during the VP segment.
Sections 22.0 (Amphibious Movement) and 23.0 (Gunboats) both talk about the York River. I can't find that river on the map. Where is the York River on the GTC maps?
The York River splits into the Pamunkey River and the Mattapony River to the east of the GTC south map. Whenever the rules reference the "York River", assume that the York River includes all major river hexes on both the Pamunkey and Mattapony.
On Page 27 (right column) it says that units chosen to receive replacement points must be in supply. What if they are currently in supply but are about to drop out of supply later in the Strategic Cycle? Or what if they will only be in supply if a player builds or upgrades a depot during the intervening Depot Segment?
Union units chosen to receive replacement points must be units that will be judged to be in supply in the upcoming Supply Status Segment based on depots that currently exist on the map (i.e. depots that are on the map during the Reinforcement Segment). Units that are about to drop out of supply can not receive replacements. In addition, units that will only be in supply after the construction of new depots can not receive replacements.
If AP Hill falls ill and is replaced by Early, what happens with the division-sized military unit Early. Does it remain or is the division counter replaced?
When Hill fell ill after the Battle of the Wilderness, Early took over III Corps and Gordon assumed command of Early's II Corps division. There is a Gordon division counter in the counter mix with the same 3 tactical and 3 artillery as Early's division. So you should use that division if you want to be historically accurate.
As a side note, there is also a Ramseur 3-3 II Corps division. By the Cold Harbor time frame, Hill had returned to take back over III Corps, but Ewell had fallen sick and been returned to Richmond to run the garrison there. Plus, Edward Johnson was captured in the fighting at the Bloody Angle on May 12. So in that time frame, Early was in charge of II Corps and both Gordon and Ramseur were division leaders.
 
Battle Above the Clouds Minimize
 

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Errata

Page 1 – Key for Combat Chart
The “R” to the left of “Unit must retreat” should be lower case (i.e. “r”).
Page 1 – Ratio Chart
The entry between 1-5 and 1-3 should read “1-4” (instead it currently reads “1-7”).
Page 4 – Command Radius Summary
The hex directly above the Enemy Unit should be outside the red command radius area.

Standard Basic Game Rules, Version 1.1

Page 5 – Corps and Division Leaders
Add a new note sentence to this section which reads: Note: Some leaders have two Tactical Values, separated by a slash ["/"]. (In BAC, these are Thomas [3/4] and Forrest-B [4/3]). For these leaders, the number before the slash is used in attacks, and the number after the slash is used when defending.

Battle Above the Clouds Rules

Page 46, Special Rule 2
Sheridan’s modifier should be minus 4, not plus 4.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How can I tell Clear terrain from Rolling terrain?
A: Keep in mind that the Clear terrain is just the background (cream colored) wash that is a consistent intensity behind the entire map painting. So if you see any light green/light yellow in the hex, then you know it something other than Clear. In that case, look for the dark green speckles; if you find them then you know you've moved up from Rolling to Rough.
Q: I am playing the Historical Version of Scenario 8 solitaire. What do I do about the Hidden Confederate Reinforcements (12.2)?
A: The Historical Scenarios are provided to remove hidden information thus allowing support for solitaire play. With that in mind you should ignore the procedure in Section 12.2. Confederate reinforcements should just be placed on the main turn track.
Q: Scenario 9: Rule 7 (page 50) allows both players to "temporarily" remove command restrictions on certain leaders for six turns, after which the standard command restrictions are put back in force. Can a player remove these restrictions more than once on a leader during the course of a game?
A: No. Read the rule as follows:
"At any one point in the game, both players may remove..."

GCACW Errata | GCACW PBeM Tools | GCACW Resources

GCACW Series | Roads to Gettysburg | Stonewall's Last Battle | Skirmisher | On to Richmond | Grant Takes Command | Battle Above the Clouds

Errata

Page 1 – Key for Combat Chart
The “R” to the left of “Unit must retreat” should be lower case (i.e. “r”).
Page 1 – Ratio Chart
The entry between 1-5 and 1-3 should read “1-4” (instead it currently reads “1-7”).
Page 4 – Command Radius Summary
The hex directly above the Enemy Unit should be outside the red command radius area.

Standard Basic Game Rules, Version 1.1

Page 5 – Corps and Division Leaders
Add a new note sentence to this section which reads: Note: Some leaders have two Tactical Values, separated by a slash ["/"]. (In BAC, these are Thomas [3/4] and Forrest-B [4/3]). For these leaders, the number before the slash is used in attacks, and the number after the slash is used when defending.

Battle Above the Clouds Rules

Page 46, Special Rule 2
Sheridan’s modifier should be minus 4, not plus 4.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How can I tell Clear terrain from Rolling terrain?
A: Keep in mind that the Clear terrain is just the background (cream colored) wash that is a consistent intensity behind the entire map painting. So if you see any light green/light yellow in the hex, then you know it something other than Clear. In that case, look for the dark green speckles; if you find them then you know you've moved up from Rolling to Rough.
Q: I am playing the Historical Version of Scenario 8 solitaire. What do I do about the Hidden Confederate Reinforcements (12.2)?
A: The Historical Scenarios are provided to remove hidden information thus allowing support for solitaire play. With that in mind you should ignore the procedure in Section 12.2. Confederate reinforcements should just be placed on the main turn track.
Q: Scenario 9: Rule 7 (page 50) allows both players to "temporarily" remove command restrictions on certain leaders for six turns, after which the standard command restrictions are put back in force. Can a player remove these restrictions more than once on a leader during the course of a game?
A: No. Read the rule as follows:
"At any one point in the game, both players may remove..."

GCACW Errata | GCACW PBeM Tools | GCACW Resources